July 28, 2014

  • frickin awesome Monday

    Will I rise to my own challenge?

    monday

    Saturday- Everyone agreed nearly 100 degree heat & over 80% humidity won't be the way we spend the next burrito birthday party. Scott loaded and unloaded vehicles after driving a loaded pickup all over creation without AC, then stood in the blazing sun cooking hot dogs over a real fire, which made me really nervous. He's always been comfortable with heat, and was a happy guy mowing grass in 106 degree heat a couple of years ago, but suddenly went into a scary acute vasculitis flare that took over a month to calm down with heavy steroid doses, so it's hard for me not to walk on pins and needles through the late summers now. I'm going to borrow a friend's birthday cake pic because I think it looks cool.

    cakegrill

    Sunday- We were all exhausted, but it was Scott's turn for birthday, so despite not doing anything special at all, burrito and her mama came over to give him birthday cards and we spent a few hours visiting. Aside from catching up the laundry and cooking supper, I refused to lift another finger since I'd made it to the party the day before to help, against all good sense and medication heat warnings. This cake is from eight years ago.

     photo Scottsbday009.jpg

    Today- I get to spend two hours at the dentist prepping for a new crown on a tooth that has been broken for at least eight months but has never yet gotten a cavity because I'm such a freak about keeping my mouth clean. Just getting my teeth cleaned for a few minutes triggers nasty fibro spasms around my neck and jaw for several days and last time I wound up with a cluster headache, so today I'm expecting no less than nasty headaches and spiky pain going in all directions after I hold a pose with my head at an odd angle and my jaw open for much longer than that. I'm allowed ONE pain pill a day, so I'm planning very carefully when I take it, since I have to wait 24 hours to take it again. If I take one this morning, I can take another one when I get up tomorrow, but if I wait until it's all over to take it, I'll be able to sleep better, but then I can't take another one until tomorrow afternoon.

     photo dentist.gif

    People who have never been through spinal flare ups and a painful liver condition at a young age from meds probably think this is an easy problem to solve. Pop some pills and enjoy an adult beverage. See, that's how I got here in the first place. A guy on twitter recently announced he has cirrhosis of the liver, but the lucky skunk doesn't have any pain with it. I've been living with a scarred liver since my 30's, and my liver swelled up and made me very sick for months when I got a simple virus in my 40's that many people toil through for a week thinking they have the 'crud'. My doctors take me very seriously. If that virus flares up again it could kill me. Enjoying adult beverages and popping pills will only expedite the liver fail process. SO. I am planning for a rough couple of days. I'm really good at getting through pain nowadays, but I might have to put a caution sign on my forehead so Scott will know to dive out of the way when I open my mouth and 20 foot flames shoot out.

    dragon

    A nice side effect of not popping pills and enjoying adult beverages is that people don't realize I'm this old. I don't wear makeup because I'm allergic to citrus and nuts (both of which saturate the beauty industry) so I can't fake it like the ladies in that link who have more money than I have do, and about 9 months ago I passed a stress test on a treadmill as if I were in my 20's. I hydrate well and eat lots of veggies and extra protein. I don't take more than a multivitamin, and I get my probiotics in yogurt and prebiotics in my whey mix. I'm super high risk for several cancers, and since my mom died of rampant diabetes destroying her brain with hundreds of TIAs and major strokes, I take very seriously what I put into my mouth. If I go by average age in my family history, I have about 10 or 15 more years to live, if I'm lucky, because I obviously have even more medical challenges than they did. A doctor told me in my 20's that I'd be blind and in a nursing home by 40. Thanx to new developments in pharmaceuticals happening right around the time he said that, I'm still living at home and still have my vision.

     photo 2008_june_summer_boat_show_attractions_twiggy.jpg

    These are all the things that go through my head before I do something big that I know will spike my pain levels through the roof. I'm pretty sure the trigeminal pain in my left ear will feel like an ice pick stabbing into my brain for several hours or maybe even a couple of days after I see the dentist today. I decided last week that I'm taking this week off. THIS WEEK IS MY VACATION. I might just be turning off the tech and redecorating my house staying busy. By redecorate I mean excavate and tear down curtains to wash and plow through rearranging drawers and stripping floors, and God help us all if I start washing windows.

Comments (1)

  • I love it when females wear no makeup. My wife doesn't. I hope your around a long time. Tell Scott happy birthday young man from me!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Pinky is mobile! Click this pic for mobile viewing.

 photo pinkybloggerbar.jpg

pinkymobilescan

You Are Here

shopify analytics ecommerce tracking

Site Meter

Subscribe in a reader

Subscribe to Pinky Guerrero by Email

This is my personal daily blog. I used to make these private. We'll see what happens.

Disclaimer- I receive no compensation for linking and sharing.

What else am I doing?

my dotcom  photo dotcomlogojb.jpg

Yablo, my main blog  photo archheretic.jpg

my Lexx blog  photo lexxheader.jpg

Lexxperience  photo lexxperienceheader2.jpg

Lexx hangout on G+  photo Lexxhangoutpage.jpg

aspie blog  photo bluenebulabluejackyea.jpg

personal blog  photo pinkyblog.jpg

chicken blog  photo ducklordslogo.jpg

photoshop blog

spoonie blog  photo spazz.jpg

Google+

View Janika Banks's profile on LinkedIn

 photo tumblr_button.jpg

Follow Me on Pinterest

Pinky Guerrero

I keep forgetting I have a myspace account

You may be an aspie if  photo bluejacky.jpg

surveypalooza  photo surveybutton.jpg

MerLexxian- because no one else is doing it  photo zcolinxeniawholescreen.jpg

Pinky Stuff at syfydesigns

Pinky's Blog at syfydesigns


HowManyOfMe.com
LogoThere are
1
or fewer people named Janika Banks in the U.S.A.

How many have your name?

What are my friends doing?

Eric's blog  photo keepingconscious5.jpg

Dawn's blog  photo dawnsnip3.jpg

Vicki's blog  photo tryingnottowobble.jpg

Anonymous Aspie  photo aspieland.jpg

Fae & Friends  photo faeampfriends2.jpg

myke's place  photo syfydesignslogo.jpg

Nerd Movie  photo nerdmovie.jpg

Front and Center Promotions  photo frontandcenterlogo.jpg

Kirill Yarovoy  photo revivalcomingsoon.jpg

Little Lexx forum  photo lexxboredbutton.jpg

Lexxzone on Tumblr  photo lexxzonelogo.jpg

Everything I have in this blog

July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031